Contact Us Today: 301-818-0389

FAQs about DUI in Maryland

dui in maryland

A DUI (driving under the influence) conviction on your record can severely impact your life and future. If you’ve been arrested for DUI in Maryland, you likely have many questions about the charges and consequences you are facing.

If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge in Maryland, scheduling a consultation with an experienced DUI lawyer who can address all your questions based on your specific circumstances is recommended. However, this article will give you an overview of some of the most frequently asked questions about DUI in Maryland.

Is There a Difference Between a DwI and a DuI in maryland?

In Maryland, if you are arrested for a DUI, you will likely be cited for a DUI and a DWI (driving while intoxicated). These charges are very different, and the charges you are cited for are based on your blood alcohol content. In Maryland, the legal limit is .08%.

A DWI is less severe than a DUI charge, as are the penalties. The officer may cite you for a DWI if your blood alcohol content is under the legal limit, but you are still considered impaired. If your blood alcohol content is over .08%, it is considered a DUI, which is a much more severe charge.

What are the Consequences of Refusing a Breath Test?

Many people believe that refusing a breath test is a good idea. However, there are a couple of different ways that refusing a breath test can negatively affect you.

First, if you refuse a breath test and are found to have been intoxicated, you could be charged an additional two months in jail and an additional $500 in fines.

Second, refusing the breath test can look bad to the court. The judge could look at your refusal as being uncooperative, which could lead him to believe that you are not willing to do what’s right going forward.

Do I Face Fines and Jail Time?

If you are convicted of a DUI, the amount of fines and jail time you face is determined by how many offenses are on your record.

  • First offense — A fine of up to $1,000, up to a year in jail, and twelve points on your license. Your license could also be revoked for up to six months.
  • Second offense — A fine of $2,000, a five day mandatory minimum sentence with a possibility of up to two years in jail, twelve points on your license, and license revocation of up to a year.

Will I Lose My License?

After a DUI arrest, you will receive a temporary driver’s license for 45 days. You will then have ten days to schedule a hearing with the MVA to attempt to keep your driving privileges. If the hearing is not scheduled by then, after the 45th day, your license will be suspended.

A DUI charge will also add points to your license. Your license will be suspended if you accumulate between eight and eleven points within a two-year period. And if you get 12 or more points, your license will be revoked.

Will I Lose My Job?

The impact of a DUI charge on your employment depends on your employer, your job, and the details of your case. However, even if a DUI doesn’t affect your job, it could affect your ability to get to and from work, and if you are unable to get to work, that could affect your employment status.

If you hold your CDL, the punishment for a DUI is more severe than those in a personal vehicle. Your CDL can still be affected even if you weren’t in a commercial vehicle when you got your DUI. You won’t be able to drive if your license is suspended, which means you won’t be able to work until your license is reinstated.

Will I Have To Use an Ignition Interlock Device?

You will likely have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle to continue driving. If you have to use an ignition interlock device, it is your responsibility to pay for the cost of installation as well as the monthly fees required to maintain the device. You will also have to pay for an interlock-restricted driver’s license and a corrected driver’s license after you are no longer in the program.

Let Jeremy Widder Law Help Fight Your DUI Charge

While you aren’t required to retain legal counsel, fighting a DUI charge in Maryland isn’t something you should attempt on your own. Having an experienced DUI attorney representing you ensures that you have the legal knowledge and skills to defend yourself properly in the court.

If you’re facing legal challenges, the team at Jeremy Widder Law is ready to put our years of experience to work for you. We will be by your side from start to finish and give your case the attention it deserves.

Contact us today or book a consultation online now.

Share:

More Posts

bail in Maryland

What to Know About Bail in Maryland

Being arrested isn’t only an extremely stressful, scary experience. It can also be very confusing. As you are processed, you are given a substantial amount

Send Us A Message